Thursday, June 12, 2008


The Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) maintained its majority strength in Parliament after clinching three out of five seats in Wednesday’s by-election.The party scooped the Emuhaya, Ainamoi and Wajir North seats but lost Embakasi and Kilgoris to its rival and coalition partner Party of National Unity (PNU).

The MPs elect are ODM’s Wilbur Ottichillo (Emuhaya), Benjamin Langat (Ainamoi), Mohammed Gabow (Wajir North), while PNU’s new MPs are; Ferdinand Waititu (Embakasi) and Gideon Konchella (Kilgoris).

ODM has also been victorious in Wajir North, where Mohammed Gabow garnered 5,465 votes, followed by KANU's Ali Abdillahi, who had 4,716.The Wajir North Constituency ran into a by- election after the two candidates tied in last years General election.

But the party strength remained as it had been.ODM, however, currently enjoys the backing of three Narc MPs led by Water Minister Charity Ngilu. Party of Independent Candidates of Kenya and Kilome MP Harun Mwau also votes with ODM.

ODM is also enjoying the support of three rebel ODM-Kenya MPs, Charles Kilonzo (Yatta), Kiema Kilonzo (Mutito) and Isaac Muoki (Mutomo).Assistant Minister and Kathiani MP Wavinya Ndeti of Chama Cha Uzalendo, has also thrown her weight behind ODM.

In total ODM enjoys the support of 109 MPs, including those of its affiliate parties and nominated legislators.