Tuesday, January 08, 2008


Kenya's President Mwai Kibaki has named new ministers, hours before Ghana's leader was due to arrive as part of mediation efforts over disputed polls.

Mr Kibaki named Kalonzo Musyoka, who came third in last month's election, as vice-president but no-one from the main opposition party was appointed.

1. Internal Security – Prof George Saitoti
2. Defence – Yusuf Hajji
3. Special Programmes – Naomi Shaban
4. Public Service - Asman Kamama
5. Finance – Amos Kimunya
6. Education – Prof Sam Ongeri
7. Foreign Affairs – Moses Wetangula
8. Local Government – Uhuru Kenyatta
9. Information and Communications – Samuel Poghisio
10. Water and Irrigation – John Munyes

11. Energy – Kiraitu Murungi
12. Roads and Public Works – John Michuki
13. Science and Technology – Noah Wekesa
14. Justice and Constitutional Affairs – Martha Karua
15. East Africa Cooperation – Dr Wilfred Machage
16. Transport – Chirau Ali Mwakwere
This comes in contrast to a petition to have Mr. Kibaki step down as the President of Kenya.
The Petition has already been signed by thousands of Kenyas, in and out of the country.